Emperor Penguin Emperor Penguins
Photo Gallery
Types of Penguins

Types of Penguins

As everybody knows, penguins cannot fly. In fact, the various kinds of penguins make up the largest family of flightless birds in the world. There are at least 17 different kinds of penguins, and the total number of penguins on earth is probably very large. Some people believe that there may be more than 100 million penguins living today.

As this map shows, all penguins live in southern half of the earth – the southern Hemisphere. There are no penguins in the Northern Hemisphere.
 Many people are surprised to learn that penguins do not always live in cold places. As the map shows, there is one penguin species that lives right on the Equator, where it can get hot. Other penguins live in places where it is warm at least part of the year. For instance, there are penguins along the coast of South America. And there are penguins living in South Australia, South Africa, and New Zealand.

Some penguins live on islands inside the Antarctica Circle during the summer, but migrate to warm places to spend the winter. They may swim thousands of miles. Only two species of penguins (Adelies and Emperors) live in very cold areas all year long.

There’s a lot of variety in the penguin family.

Many people think that all penguins look alike, but nothing could be further from the truth.

Every species has its own unique markings and colors. And penguins come in many different sizes.

The largest are the Emperor penguins, and the smallest are the Little Blue penguins. A full – grown Emperor can stand almost 3 ½ feet tall. And it can weigh more than 90 pounds. Little Blue penguins are only about 16” inches tall. And they weigh less than 2 ½ pounds.
The 18 types of Penguins

1- Emperor penguin (Aptenodytes Forsteri)
2- King penguin (Aptenodytes Patagonicus)
3- Fiordland crested penguin (Eudyptes pachrhynchus)
4- Erect – crested penguin (Eudyptes sclateri)
5- Rockhopper penguin (Eudyptes Chrysocome)
6- Macaroni penguin (Eudyptes Chrysolophus)
7- Royal penguin (Eudyptes Schlegeli)
8- Snares Island penguin (Eudyptes Robustus)
9- Adelie penguin (Pygoscelis Adeliae)
10- Gentoo penguin (Pygoscelis Papua)
11- Chinstrap penguin (Pygoscelis Antarctica)
12- Littlel penguin (Eudyptula minor)
13- White– flippered penguin (Eudyptula “minor”Albosignata)
14- Yellow – Eyed penguin (Megadyptes Antipodes)
15- Magellanic penguin Spheniscus magellanicus)
16- Jackass penguin (Spheniscus Demersus)
17- Peruvian Penguin (Spheniscus humboldti)
18- Galapagos penguin (Spheniscus meniculus

Contact us | Privacy Policy | Resources